Coke float drinking pocket rocket, planetary scientist, presenter, space comedienne

Space Princess

So things have been reeeediculously busy recently hence the lack of blog, and for that I’m sorry. I hope to use it more, maybe as a Sunday night therapy session after a long week and before another long week ahead. It kind of makes me feel like Carrie Bradshaw, but my fashion sense is sadly not as good.

This post doesn’t have a theme or a point or a story, it is just me and my musings, typing whatever comes out. Enjoy!

http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2011/apr/01/david-willetts-feminism-lack-of-jobs

Regardless of what our science minister might say, I’m proud of being a girly girl space princess and a space scientist!

So I guess you may have realised I’ve been a little bit moody/down in the dumps recently.

I’m not going to lie, its not over yet!

And part of the problem is that our careers services are so bad, and there is a distinct lack of support and respect for who and what we are.

However, I need to concentrate on finishing my PhD and being proud of what I’ve achieved. Regardless of what the future might bring. It will all be ok, because it has to be.

All I have to do right now is work really hard and finish my thesis to the best of my abilities; I have a positive feeling that the rest will just fall in to place.

I have to remember that I have a lot going for me. And of course it won’t be easy and I won’t just get the first job I apply for, but it will all turn out how it is supposed to.

I’ve been trying to think about what job I actually want; and I find myself in a new situation. I’ve always wanted to be in space science, ever since I was little. And now the doors have been flung open, the world is my oyster once again. What shall I do once my PhD is over?

Is science my vocation?

Its not that I dont want to stay in space science; I really really do. But try finding a job that fits all my criteria and everything else I want! And I’m applying for everything that comes up, but so far, no job. Maybe a PhD just isn’t enough?

Dad suggested I use my PhD to go and work ‘in the city’. With my maths and physics skills I guess I could earn megabucks? But I’d rather get paid less and do something ‘for the greater good’. Any suggestions?

So my current thinking is to use space, and science, as an inspiration. Something to help children. Teach the future generations. Make people realise that the world is an amazing place and it is worth living and fighting for. I’m thinking “Dead Poets Society” but with equations instead of poems.

How do I go about this? Answers on a postcard!

I’ve noticed recently that all the sitting down writing has been really hurting my back. Reckon I can sue someone? πŸ™‚

If I take my yearning to go into space out of the equation I’m not left with much. Teaching, I guess. Children and charity work. Animals. Hmmmm.

Last shuttle launch planned for the end of this week. Gutted I never got to see one. Going to try and get to a Soyuz launch one day to make up for it.

The harder I work the more I enjoy doing the science. And the more I treat it like a ‘proper’ job the more I enjoy it too. But I am enjoying writing up more than anything else so far. I like the feeling of being an author, having writers block and waking up to scribble notes into a little notebook I have beside my bed. I’m going to start going to Starbucks for coffee and free wifi soon too.

I’m still trying to get into TV. I want to present science on TV, even on a kids show. I honestly think I’ll be ace at that. Anyone have any job openings? πŸ™‚

Guess I should head to bed soon. The start of a very busy week ahead. Going to Boston for what could be my last science conference with my last science poster next Saturday. Happy times, happy memories.

Here’s to Happy Sheila. I hope a bit of my happiness rubs off on you all too.

 

5 responses

  1. worldofaircraftdesign

    What would you like to do, what you have a talent for, and what economy, i.e.market is looking for can hardly be all found in one job.

    July 19, 2011 at 3:09 am

  2. You are right, but I can dream cant I? πŸ™‚

    July 19, 2011 at 3:08 pm

  3. worldofaircraftdesign

    Yes, you can dream, even without my permission ;). Dreams are important, they can even generate unusual initial and boundary conditions for your PDEs, which, when solved (numerically or otherwise) may lead to some patents, and, possibly, a lot of royalties flowing in!

    August 9, 2011 at 11:22 pm

  4. god

    All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes, to make it possible.
    TLE if you want to change the world – just do it.

    August 29, 2011 at 8:44 pm

  5. My humble advice (I’m a stone-cold idiot though, so large pinch of salt required)

    I did the whole sensible job thing, earned lots of money, and absolutely hated it after a few years. I quit. Now I’m doing the ill-advised but fun thing. Unsurprisingly, its much more fun, if a little terrifying at times. But you don’t come home from work incandescent with rage.

    I’d say doing something for the greater good sounds much more rewarding than working in the City, and teaching children about space sounds like something that would lure me out of bed early on a winter’s morning eager to get started, rather than the usual screaming at the world/cat.

    Working out what you really want to do isn’t easy though. But I’d say if science and ideas are your passion, then follow them. If you love ideas, then you’ll probably detest most office/commercial jobs.

    If you like writing, how about children’s science books or a children’s science blog? (I’ve been thinking about doing this myself).

    No idea about presenting, you could try doing your own Youtube science shorts? (I’m sure you could lure some innocent media students into helping with the promise of helping to create the next big thing).

    Ramble over.

    August 30, 2011 at 9:01 pm

Leave a Reply

